Author Topic: getting more from Liturgy  (Read 3451 times)

Offline Mandy

getting more from Liturgy
« on: January 17, 2009, 04:45:44 AM »
Hello all, I am new to the Orthodox faith and have had trouble understanding the liturgies. I'm wondering if there are any particular books that might help me understand?

Offline nicholas1870

Re: getting more from Liturgy
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2009, 07:09:31 AM »
Hi there and welcome!

Does your parish have a book store? Sometimes they stock small items like "Liturgy and Life: Lectures and essays on Christian development through liturgical experience" by Fr. Alexander Schmemann, which is a nice little introduction to the Liturgy.

When you say you are having trouble understanding, do you mean that the Liturgy is not in English, or do you mean that you'd like to understand more about the Liturgy itself?
« Last Edit: January 17, 2009, 07:12:44 AM by nicholas1870 »

Offline Mandy

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2009, 02:31:35 PM »
I haven't been to the parish in a long time. I think they do have some books, I'm not sure which ones though. I visited for the first time last March and April only a couple of times. I am a convert from protestantism and was very hostile and prideful for a long time towards the orthodox faith. Finally for the last few months, God has opened my eyes towards the faith. I have been to my hometown parish for a couple of times recently over thanksgiving and Christmas, but I will be going to the one nearest me this Sunday for the first time in a long time. (I am in college)

Sorry, let me get to what you really asked. I mean that it is a Greek Orthodox parish, so I suppose I am having trouble understanding those parts as well as having trouble understanding more about the liturgy itself. I just mean that I found the liturgy kind of, dry, originally. Forgive me, it is only in my own pride and ignorance I feel, but nonetheless, I want to have an illuminated heart towards the liturgy.