Author Topic: Introduction and Question on Contraception  (Read 8221 times)

Offline Sophia3

Introduction and Question on Contraception
« on: December 19, 2008, 01:26:22 AM »
Hey all,
I am a college freshman who has been interested in Eastern Catholicism and Orthodoxy since my Sophmore year of high school. Right now I am a Roman Catholic who mostly attends the Traditional Latin Mass.

I was wondering what the Orthodox position on contraception is. I remember reading somewhere that since the Orthodox have no Pope to issue a Humanae Vitae or something like that it is a heavily debated topic without a clear cut answer - however the traditionalist/old calendarist types tend to forbid it and the more "modern" church usually accepts it. Is this correct? Is there anything I need to know about the Orthodox position on contraception?

Offline Quinault

• Did you drink water today?
  • Protokentarchos
  • What about frogs? I like frogs!
  • Faith: Eastern Orthodox
  • Jurisdiction: Antiochian
Re: Introduction and Question on Contraception
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2008, 01:48:21 AM »
One view is that Natural Family Planning is no different than the barrier method; one prevents the sperm from getting to the egg, the other prevents the egg from getting to the sperm.

Offline John of the North

• Protokentarchos
  • Christ is Risen!
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2008, 01:52:37 AM »
Hey all,
I am a college freshman who has been interested in Eastern Catholicism and Orthodoxy since my Sophmore year of high school. Right now I am a Roman Catholic who mostly attends the Traditional Latin Mass.