OrthodoxChristianity.net
December 20, 2014, 03:18:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Orthodox Church Architecture...  (Read 6573 times) Average Rating: 0
88Devin12
Warned
Protokentarchos

Faith: Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: Antioch

« on: January 09, 2009, 03:21:06 PM »

As an architecture student, i've become more and more interested and in love with Orthodox Church Architecture. It'd be nice if I could one day design Orthodox Churches regularly. Right now I'm working on a project involving an Orthodox Church.

What I would like to know is... What are some traditional Orthodox Architectural elements/features? What "must" go into an Orthodox building? What is optional?

What do you like most in Orthodox buildings? What have been some of your best memories from them?
What do you like least (if anything) about the Churches? What are some of your worst memories?

lastly, what is some of the symbolism involved in different aspects of church architecture?

Thank you!
Heorhij
Merarches

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: GOA, for now, but my heart belongs to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church

« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2009, 03:35:36 PM »

This could be helpful:

http://www.goarch.org/ourfaith/ourfaith8025

Love never fails.
scamandrius
Crusher of Secrets; House Lannister
Taxiarches

Faith: Greek Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: I'm Greek and proud of it, damn it!

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2009, 04:10:45 PM »

What "must" go into an Orthodox building?