OrthodoxChristianity.net
December 22, 2014, 04:50:05 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Question about Contemplative Prayer  (Read 747 times) Average Rating: 0
gregoryofnyssa

« on: January 09, 2009, 02:28:07 AM »

I am not new to the concept of contemplative prayer, but I am new to the serious practice of it.  I had a strange experience the other night while praying and I was hoping to get a little guidance about my experience and find out whether it is normal and trustworthy, or something else.

On this occasion quieting my mind was particularly difficult and after some time I began to get a little frustrated.  I eventually gave up the "effort" I was putting forth to find silence and resigned myself to my ignorance and inability.  As I expressed my openness to whatever God may have for me in this moment (rather than my own attempts to create something out of the moment), I felt an intense awareness that I was not alone.  I felt something that I have felt before in other prayerful scenarios which I believe to have been the presence of God.  But this was a little different.  It was strong, intense, and nearly oppressive.  I felt what I can only describe as heat overcoming me, like being under covers that are far too warm.  My nervous system seemed to come alive, but in such a strange way. 

After a few minutes of being in this state, I had to move and break the silence.  I had to get away; it was just too intense.  I opened my eyes and thought for a minute while prostrating on the ground, unsure of what to make of this experience.  I was hoping that someone here might have had a similar experience and would be able to explain to me what I should do.