OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 28, 2014, 04:42:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Superiority Complex?  (Read 1440 times) Average Rating: 0
Dismas84
Struggling

Faith: Greek Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Metropolis of Atlanta

« on: June 02, 2008, 12:44:04 AM »

Greetings. As some of you have probably realized I'm new here.  Tongue As some of you may notice from the title I gave myself, I'm also new to the faith. Some of you have gave me nice little welcome posts when I replied to a thread, and I thank you for that.  laugh I have here a topic that's a bit different than normal, I'm sure, and just happened to me all too recently.

Well there was an old friend of mine who also became a catechumen, and we kept in contact online. He responded to my blog a couple of times, and we would exchange links to websites that had writings of the church fathers or sold icons and/or books.

However, I couldn't help but notice he seemed to have a problem: he was very mocking of non-Orthodox. He regularly called Protestants stupid and Catholics papists. Whenever other Christian sects came up in conversation he would often start giving them insulting names, or speaking down on them in general.