Author Topic: Question About Communion Etiquette?  (Read 221 times)

Offline JerseySlav

• Faith: Lapsed Catholic
  • Jurisdiction: Diocese of Trenton
Question About Communion Etiquette?
« on: May 11, 2015, 12:53:33 PM »
Hello,

I am a 25 year old lapsed Catholic who has been exploring Orthodoxy for about two years now. Recently, I have started attending liturgies at local parishes; however, I have a rather embarassing question and nobody from whom to seek an answer. Obviously, having not been baptized into Orthodoxy, I cannot recieve Communion. Thus, when the parishioners move forward and recieve, I generally stay in the back of the church. Often, someone will approach me and offer me bread. I understand that non-Orthodox can recieve the Antidoron at the end of the service because it is not consecrated, but that is left in the back of the church. Is it disrespectful to take the Antidoron during the service?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2015, 12:55:46 PM by JerseySlav »

Offline biro

• Excelsior
  • Site Supporter
  • Hoplitarches
  • Leave me alone, I was only singing
    • Alaska Volcanoes
  • Faith: Orthodox
  • Jurisdiction: GOAA
Re: Question About Communion Etiquette?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2015, 01:03:00 PM »
Welcome to the board.
He will come again with glory to judge the living and the dead. His kingdom will have no end.

--

And if I seem a little strange, well, that's because I am

Offline IXOYE

• Site Supporter
  • High Elder
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2015, 01:12:47 PM »
Welcome to the forum!

I may be wrong, but I think it is okay to take.

Offline genesisone

• Archon
  • Jurisdiction: Antioch
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2015, 01:28:30 PM »
Yes, you make take it. It is not Communion. It is being offered to you as a sign of hospitality and friendship.

Offline xOrthodox4Christx

• Partisan Pro-Chalcedonian Fanatic
  • Protokentarchos
  • St. John the Merciful
  • Faith: Eastern Orthodox
  • Jurisdiction: OCA
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2015, 01:42:59 PM »