OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 24, 2014, 11:53:21 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: reading material  (Read 2200 times) Average Rating: 0
cancerbike

« on: April 21, 2008, 05:30:39 PM »

Hi,

I'm looking for any/all reading material for a total newbie...I mean a real, total newbie. It's been difficult to find something in this niche because it seems a lot of Eastern Christian literature is directed to people already familiar with a Western Christian paradigm.

Basically, my parents were "raised Catholic", had bad experiences, and prevented me from going to church or learning that much about Christianity since they found it corrupt. As a result I'm really unfamiliar with this stuff...I searched for a "which bible version do I use" thread, and I was confused by the terminology/abbreviations/etc. I mean, I'm not even sure what canons are yet. :/ Sorry if it sounds dumb, but I'm starting from the bottom up. I'd just like to know:

- which Bible version to read (I don't know the historical connotations of any)
- helpful reading material for sheltered newbs.

I'd like to study a lot. I don't know if I will be able to convert yet because I feel way too flawed, but that's another story for another post. Right now I just need to figure out basics...thanks!
EofK
Mrs. Y
Protokentarchos

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: OCA Diocese of the Midwest

lolcat addict

« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2008, 05:35:25 PM »

Firstly, welcome to the forum!  I hope you have a fun and enriching experience here.  You might like to have a look around in the Convert Issues forum as there are many good threads there for those new to the faith and those inquiring into it.