OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 31, 2014, 01:46:24 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: impecability of christ  (Read 1503 times) Average Rating: 0
nathan

« on: February 21, 2008, 02:33:45 AM »

I am new to the Orthodox faith, but on the road to becoming a catechumen, and I have a question on the question of whether or not Jesus Christ was capable of sinning. Of course not whether he did or not, but having taken on human flesh and human nature, was he possibility of sinning present? The obvious example in the temptations of Christ.

Elisha
Warned
Protokentarchos

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: OCA

« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2008, 02:36:12 AM »

Needless speculation.  Fuggidaboudit.
nathan

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2008, 02:40:06 AM »

It's not by any means a make or break spiritual issue, I was just wondering if there was position taken on the issue.
Anastasios
Webdespota
Administrator
Merarches

Faith: Eastern Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Greek Old Calendarist

Metropolitan Chrysostomos of Florina

anastasios0513
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2008, 04:53:18 AM »

I don't have my notes ready but I believe we were taught in seminary that it was impossible that Christ could have sinned. However, the temptations he suffered were real.

I am not quite sure how that syncs up but it makes sense to me: he suffered as man and his suffering were real, but as God, he could not allow the human nature to give in. Plus, the human nature of Christ was qualitatively different from ours as he was born "in theosis" obviously and never fell from grace.

Please Buy My Book!