Author Topic: Did anyone watch the royal wedding?  (Read 952 times)

Offline maneki_neko

• Faith: Orthodox
  • Jurisdiction: Metropolitanate of Singapore and SEA
Did anyone watch the royal wedding?
« on: May 19, 2018, 09:42:34 AM »
Hi guys, I'm new to Orthodoxy and was raised low church evangelical so I really have no bearing on what High Church CoE traditionally looks like. I watched the Royal Wedding (Prince Harry and American actress Meghan Markle) and thought it was beautiful for a secular wedding, but not so sure about the religious aspect of it.

I've heard that at one point traditional Anglicanism and Orthodoxy were very close, so I'm just curious to compare/contrast the things they changed in this service. What would or wouldn't be compatible with an Orthodox wedding service?

Also, does anyone know why they invited the Coptic Orthodox Archbishop to speak?
主哀れめよ!

Offline WPM

• Protokentarchos
Re: Did anyone watch the royal wedding?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2018, 10:22:23 AM »
Could be something Coptic or might be the St. Anthony's Desert Fathers Monastery.
Learn meditation.

Offline BrotherInChrist

• Faith: Christian
  • Jurisdiction: Church
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2018, 10:25:01 AM »
I didn't watch it, I just wasn't interested in it. Maybe it's because I'm not British.

Offline IreneOlinyk

• High Elder
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2018, 12:14:18 PM »
Why do you call it a secular wedding?  It took place in an Anglican Cathedral.
The Anglican church grew out of the Roman Catholic = Western Christian tradition so it is not similar to an Orthodox service with the crowning.   

Interesting that the bride chose to be baptised and chrismated in the Anglican Church before the wedding although it was not a requirement per se since Prince Harry is a member of the Anglican Church in good standing.

Online Jackson02

• High Elder
  • St. Joseph of Petrograd pray to God for us!
  • Faith: Genuine Orthodox Church
  • Jurisdiction: Inquiring