OrthodoxChristianity.net
August 27, 2014, 09:10:02 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows Vista and XP  (Read 2871 times) Average Rating: 0
coptic orthodox boy
Elder

« on: July 01, 2007, 07:24:26 PM »

Hello all,

I received a new laptop a few days ago.  I'm sorry, I'm not too good with technology, so if I misuse terms forgive me.  My new laptop runs on windows Vista (I'm not really sure what that means) and not XP (my friend pointed this out yesterday).  I've encountered two problems:
Problem 1: Trying to transfer old Word documents from my old compter hasn't worked.  I'm not sure why, but my laptop fails to open the document up "cleanly" (there is a bunch of computer "jargon" all over the document).  I suppose my computer is loaded up with Windows 2007.
Problem 2: When using Chinese characters in e-mails, 5 out 6 people (all have Chinese loaded up on there computers) were unable to read the characters (receiving just boxes).  Strange thing is, when we use msn instant message they can read my Chinese characters.  In all cases, I can read their Chinese characters.  Perhaps someone could look under my photo of the beloved Chinese singer Deng LiJun (Teresa Teng) and tell me if they can read the characters (granted that the person has Chinese load up onto their computer).
If anyone can inform me of what I can do to solve these problems, I'll be more than thankful.  Both aren't problems that need to be modified by tomorrow, but when school starts (at the end of August) I need the ability to e-mail my Word documents to myself so I can print them off another computer (since my laptop isn't connected to a printer).
Thanks in advance to all that can help.