Author Topic: Does God speak to man with His Divine Voice nowadays?  (Read 1508 times)

Offline walter1234

• High Elder
Does God speak to man with His Divine Voice nowadays?
« on: October 20, 2012, 09:43:16 AM »
Nowadays, does God speak to  man with his Divine voice today, like to Abraham, Mose, Peter( Act 10:19),Paul(Act 9:4)?
« Last Edit: October 20, 2012, 09:43:54 AM by walter1234 »

Offline walter1234

• High Elder
Re: Does God speak to man with His Divine Voice nowadays?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 01:51:16 PM »
Many fellower of God in Old testament and even Christian in New Testament, like Peter, Paul, Philip(e.g.5.Acts8:13)  can clearly hear the sound and see the vision from God. Is this still happening today?

Offline Cantor Krishnich

• High Elder
  • Mar Ahmed the Daftadar
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2012, 02:06:15 PM »
Im not really in the position to answer this question, Im a little new to the faith. This does happen but its a very rare thing. I would say that usually the average layman wouldn't experience this but rather someone who has acquired much holiness (many times this could be a monk or nun).
Most Holy Theotokos, Save Us!
Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, Have Mercy Upon Me a Sinner!

Offline psalm110

• Elder
  • Orthodox Christian
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2012, 10:05:57 PM »
--subscribed--

Offline Benjamin the Red

• Recovering Calvinist
  • OC.net guru
  • Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me.
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2012, 01:46:23 AM »
Absolutely, this kind of thing does happen. When folks get to be prominent members of the Church (such as St. Paul, as an Apostle), these things may get discussed. For most of us layman who may have such experiences, we bring them to our priests and discuss them, and sometimes are told to keep them to yourself (even as Christ told his disciples to keep his identity a secret).