OrthodoxChristianity.net
September 22, 2014, 12:16:22 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Orthodox Podcasts  (Read 1910 times) Average Rating: 0
SouthSerb99
Archbishop of Shlivo, Patriarch of All Vodkas & Defender Against All Overstepping!
Site Supporter
Archon

Faith: Eastern Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Serbian Orthodox Church

Now Internet Forum Friendly

« on: February 13, 2007, 09:37:42 AM »

I have recently delved into the world of Orthodox Podcasts.  I am relatively new to this world, but have been enjoying it thoroughly.  I wanted to give a list of the podcasts I have been listening to, should anyone else be interested.

1.  Ancient Voices

2.  Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church

3.  Orthodox Word

4.  Our Life in Christ - Archive

5.  St. Sava Orthodox Church

Each is a bit different and each is good in its own way.  Today I was listening to "Our life in Christ" and their discussion on Sola Scripture.  Yesterday was the Filioque.

However, in listening to these podcasts (I do it on my commute which is about 1 hour each way), I realized how poor my pronunciation is of "terms of art".  I was raised in the Serbian Orthodox Church and I have NEVER heard Liturgy in English or even a Sermon in English (unitl I started listening to the podcasts).

I have never had ANY type of formal Orthodox study (like seminary or even Sunday school).  As a result, when I here certain words (like Filioque), the pronunciation baffles me.

When I would read on my own, I always assumed Filioque was pronounced "Filly-Oak", however as was suprised to find out it was "Filly-Oak-Way".  Is that correct?  I'm still puzzled.