OrthodoxChristianity.net
December 20, 2014, 10:35:38 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Careers: secular or something more?  (Read 1164 times) Average Rating: 0
FHL

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Coptic Orthodox

« on: November 09, 2006, 06:35:37 AM »

Hey guys, I'm new to this board. I do have a concern that I would like to get some advice on. I am very unsure of my career path (I'm a 2nd year college student). I (like many other Copts) have chosen to persue medicine, mostly out of my parent's wishes.

Okay, I need to tell you a bit about myself first. As far as my spending habits, one virtue people have told me I have is contentness. I am not very sure if this is true though. I do not desire expensive cars or fancy houses, but I do spend alot of money on things for myself that people usually don't see. Such as books, movies, electronics, etc. I also like to spend money on improving my car, becuase I like classic autos (my car's not expensive or fancy at all, but it's old and breaking down). I like to travel too, so much money gets spent on gas and plane tickets. So far I have not had to worry much about money; I've held part-time jobs for quiet some time, but I get much help from my parents, who are somewhat wealthy. So to sum it all up, I do enjoy an above-average comfort, at least money wise.