OrthodoxChristianity.net
November 24, 2014, 10:20:50 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Arab Christianity and Islamic Phrases  (Read 2821 times) Average Rating: 0
J
(another Justin)

OC.net

« on: February 04, 2005, 08:19:06 PM »

I've been thinking about this lately, as I'm an Arabic student and I have a lot of teachers who are actually Arab Christians (mostly Coptic).  Do Arab Christians ever refer to God in terms normally familiar in Islam (i.e. Al-Raheem, Al-A'azeem, etc.)?  I was just curious, because I really like the idea of saying The Merciful (Al-Raheem) instead of just God, and I often say The Allmighty/Great (Al-A'azeem) just because it's a common western term for God, but I'm sure it may put out a mixed message with other Meseeheen who are from the ME.

PS  I'm really trying to get my hands on an Arabic liturgy and/or prayer book.  Anyone have any links?
coptic orthodox boy
Elder

« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2005, 09:14:32 PM »

IC XC NIKA
www.orthodoxbookstore.org, under audio, you can find some cds having the Liturgy in Arabic.  I would suggeset purchasing also an English one as well, so you will understand what is going on.  Abouna Bishoy Andrawes has a wonderful voice, and his accent isn't to thing (that is, in English).
copticorthodoxboy
coptic orthodox boy
Elder

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2005, 09:20:19 PM »

IC XC NIKA
Oh, I don't speak any Arabic, but I will ask my priest on Sunday if he ever calls the Lord by these names.