OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 21, 2014, 08:01:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Patristic Consensus on Salvation for Heterodox  (Read 2847 times) Average Rating: 0
William
Muted
Protokentarchos

« on: July 06, 2010, 09:08:04 PM »

Hi, this is my first time posting.

I've read that many Orthodox believe that the heterodox can attain salvation for various reasons. I've also read that the general consensus is that we don't know and shouldn't judge. I am considering converting to Orthodoxy but before I do I need to make sure that this isn't a concession to modern/liberal theology. So what do the Fathers and saints (of all periods) say?

Apart from moral conduct, all that man thinks himself able to do in order to become acceptable to God is mere superstition and religious folly. - Immanuel Kant
Salpy
Section Moderator
Toumarches

Faith: Oriental Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: Armenian Church

Pray for the Christians of Iraq and Syria.

« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2010, 09:32:56 PM »

Welcome to the forum!

Robert W
Self-appointed forum herald
Elder

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Finland

Love is no feeling

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2010, 02:35:45 AM »

This is not as easy as it first may look.

On the one hand there is a consensus that "Extra Ecclesiam nulla salus", penned by saint Cyprian of Carthage, is correct.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extra_Ecclesiam_nulla_salus

On the other hand there is a consensus that saint Isaac of Syria indeed is a saint.
http://orthodoxwiki.org/Isaac_of_Syria

I have accepted this paradox.

EDIT: Welcome to the forum ApplesCheesy
« Last Edit: July 07, 2010, 02:37:02 AM by Robert W » Logged
jah777
OC.net guru